Monday, February 27, 2012

A Rogue By Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean

What a scoundrel wants, a scoundrel gets. . .

A decade ago, the Marquess of Bourne was cast from society with nothing but his title. Now a partner in London's most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance—including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury.

A broken engagement and years of disappointing courtships have left Penelope with little interest in a quiet, comfortable marriage, and a longing for something more. How lucky that her new husband has access to an unexplored world of pleasures.

Bourne may be a prince of London's illicit underworld, but he vows to keep Penelope untouched by its wickedness—a challenge indeed as the lady discovers her own desires, and her willingness to wager anything for them . . . .even her heart.

This is the first book in her new Fallen Angels series.

Heroine -- Lady Penelope Maarbury

Hero - Michael, Lord Bourne

Penelope was the girl who was engaged to the Duke of Leighton from Eleven Scandals To Start To Win A Duke's Heart. Her story begins eight years after being jilted by the Duke. Penelope has just turned down a marriage from her childhood friend Tommy. Tommy, Penelope and Bourne all grew up together and were childhood friends. Michael loses everything gambling to his guardian when he was 21 years old.

The story picks up 10 years later. Michael is now part owner of the Fallen Angel a gambling den. Bourne's goal these past 10 years is to get revenge and get his beloved Falconwell back. Michael finds out that his Falconwell was lost again in a game of cards and learns that it is now part of now part of the dowry for his oldest daughter. Michael put his plan in effect to get back his beloved Falconwell.

Michael is not the same person that Penelope remembers, he is now cold-harden and heartless.

My thoughts:

Even though Michael is not the same person that Penelope remembers she still slowly falls in love with him. I love the fact that Penelope takes no crap from Michael and tells him like it is. Michael says and does everything to make Penelope dislike him. In the end it was fun to read Michael fall in love with his wife and realizes that she is more important than revenge.

This is a wonderful written book and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the other books in this series are just as well written. The sex scene are well-written and hot!!!!

Received this book from Net Galley for an honest review.

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Between the Duke and the Deep Blue Sea by Sophia Nash

Today we have a guest reviewer -- Lettetia, Welcome!
Six Regency heroes one royal hangover. The beginning of a well plotted and entertaining series.
Avon, February 28, 2012
Sophia Nash begins her Royal Entourage series with a witty, romantic, and thoroughly entertaining tale.
Suspense, passion, humor and more all combine to make Between the Duke and the Deep Blue Sea one of the best book I have read in 2012. Alex, duke of Kress, has been disgraced by a wild bachelor party with his peers and the Prince Regent himself. Returning home he rescues the lovely Roxanne, who has been left for dead by her evil husband. While the two are together a strong passion grows stronger by the day, while Roxanne's husband must be dealt with.
Customer Review for the Amazon Vine Program

Friday, February 10, 2012

Midnight Fear, by Leslie Tentler

Rating: A, Hot, A bit grisly/multiple murders

"I trusted you, Caity"

The still of the night is once again shattered by Caitlyn Cahill's recurring nightmare—her brother standing before her, gripping a butcher knife, his eyes black with hatred. Two years ago, the former Washington, D.C., socialite defied her powerful senator father and risked the ruin of her family by helping the FBI link her troubled brother to a string of horrific murders. "The Capital Killer" was sent to prison for life…and Caitlyn's entire world fell apart
Now, FBI agent Reid Novak is forced to rend the peace Caitlyn has found on a rural Virginia horse farm. A copycat killer is on the loose and slowly toying with Caitlyn—his ultimate target—in a terrorizing cat–and–mouse game. Almost destroyed two years ago by Caitlyn's family, not to mention the Capital Killer's haunting final murder, Reid vows to save the woman he's never forgotten or die trying.”

Our story starts out with FBI agents Reid Novak & Mitch Tierney trying to convince serial killer Joshua Cahill to let go of the woman he in intent on murdering. Josh has severe psych issues. He freaks, slits the woman’s throat, while the agents open fire on him, sending him crashing through a window and in to the Potomic River. He is fished out of there, goes to trial, and is now serving life for all of the murders. He kept a journal, which his sister Caitlyn turned over to the FBI. Their father, a judge, died shortly after Josh went to prison, his wife ended up in mental institution, and Caitlyn ostracized from Washington society. Caitlyn moves out to the country where she now owns the Rambling Rose equestrian facility. They mostly work with disadvantaged children, and Caitlyn loves her job and her horses.

Fast forward two years and we are introduced to a new serial killer, duplicating Joshua’s grisly, torturous form of murder. Reid has been called in to assist with this case since he was involved in the first one. Reid gets in touch with Caitlyn, so she is aware there is a killer trying to duplicate her brother’s profile. Shortly after the heads up from Reid, strange things start occurring in Caitlyn’s life, and the gruesome murders intensify, making it clear that Caitlyn is a target.

During this time, Caitlyn and Reid finally address the feelings they have for one another. Reid is just an awesome hero, a big tough FBI profiler, but he has a very vulnerable side to him. Reid is just returning to work from an illness that he was on an extended leave of absence from the Bureau for. This is the first case for Reid since returning to work. The great part of this book is that Caitlyn and Reid don’t just hop right in to bed. The relationship progresses over time, amidst all the tension and trauma of the murders. And believe me, it is a lot to take in. Caitlyn feels at times like she can’t believe this is happening all over again. The story moves right along, there are several choices for who the antagonist it, but Ms. Tentler keeps you guessing right up to the end. The story is at no loss for interesting characters, and they all help drive the story line. I love a book that keeps me guessing, and on the edge of my chair, with a bit of romance thrown in, and this book was all that and more!

I thought Leslie Tentler’s first book was very good, but this one goes way beyond that, both in the story line and the character relationships. I can’t wait to start the next book in this series, Edge of Midnight.